Skip to content

Comparison

ThermoWorks vs ThermoPro

Which Meat Thermometer Should You Buy?

ThermoWorks vs ThermoPro compared by accuracy, speed, wireless range and warranty: Thermapen ONE, Signals, RFX against TP19H, TP829B and TP930, by cooking job.

By thisMETER EditorialUpdated November 6, 20269 min read3 picks

On this page · Our picks at a glance

Our picks at a glance

  1. 1

    Leave-in monitoring without any app

    ThermoPro TP829B

    Choose for: Leave-in monitoring without any app

  2. 2

    App monitoring on a budget

    ThermoPro TP930

    Choose for: App monitoring on a budget

  3. 3

    First thermometer, small budget

    ThermoPro TP19H

    Choose for: First thermometer, small budget

Both brands make dependable meat thermometers, so choose by cooking job and budget, not by logo. ThermoWorks wins on instrument-grade specs — ±0.5 °F accuracy with a NIST-traceable certificate (Thermapen ONE), a 1,500 ft cable-free probe system (RFX), and a 5-year flagship warranty. ThermoPro wins on value: the TP19H instant-read matches the Thermapen's 1-second speed at ±0.9 °F for a fraction of the money, and the TP829B's 1,000 ft no-app receiver covers whole-smoker monitoring on AAA batteries. Every figure here comes from the two makers' own product pages, checked November 5, 2026 — we have not physically tested these units.

  • ±0.5 °FThermapen ONE accuracy, core range, certificate included
  • 1,500 ftRFX MEAT to Gateway wireless range
  • 1,000 ftThermoPro TP829B receiver range, no app needed
  • 5 yearsThermapen ONE warranty, against 3 years for ThermoPro models

Quick picks: buy for the cooking job

Compare specifications and all conditions

Fast steak and chicken checks

Our pick
ThermoWorks Thermapen ONE
The deciding spec
±0.5 °F, NIST-traceable certificate, IP67
Choose differently when…
Budget matters more than half a degree — take the TP19H

Leave-in monitoring without any app

Our pick
ThermoPro TP829B
The deciding spec
1,000 ft RF to a stand-alone receiver, 4 probes
Choose differently when…
You want phone alerts — the TP930 or Signals

Long smokes with cable-free probes

Our pick
ThermoWorks RFX
The deciding spec
1,500 ft sub-GHz, 65+ hours per charge, 1000 °F external
Choose differently when…
You want a screen on the counter without a phone — the Signals

App monitoring on a budget

Our pick
ThermoPro TP930
The deciding spec
Bluetooth 5.0, 650 ft, 4 probes, 8-month battery
Choose differently when…
You want away-from-home monitoring — Signals or RFX

Four channels, alarms, Wi-Fi

Our pick
ThermoWorks Signals
The deciding spec
4 Pro-Series channels, 90 dB alarm, Wi-Fi + Bluetooth
Choose differently when…
No-phone simplicity wins — the TP829B

First thermometer, small budget

Our pick
ThermoPro TP19H
The deciding spec
1-second, ±0.9 °F, motion wake, IP65
Choose differently when…
You make candy or competition BBQ — the Thermapen ONE
Full comparison table

Swipe to compare. Row labels stay visible.

Your jobOur pickThe deciding specChoose differently when…
Fast steak and chicken checksThermoWorks Thermapen ONE±0.5 °F, NIST-traceable certificate, IP67Budget matters more than half a degree — take the TP19H
Leave-in monitoring without any appThermoPro TP829B1,000 ft RF to a stand-alone receiver, 4 probesYou want phone alerts — the TP930 or Signals
Long smokes with cable-free probesThermoWorks RFX1,500 ft sub-GHz, 65+ hours per charge, 1000 °F externalYou want a screen on the counter without a phone — the Signals
App monitoring on a budgetThermoPro TP930Bluetooth 5.0, 650 ft, 4 probes, 8-month batteryYou want away-from-home monitoring — Signals or RFX
Four channels, alarms, Wi-FiThermoWorks Signals4 Pro-Series channels, 90 dB alarm, Wi-Fi + BluetoothNo-phone simplicity wins — the TP829B
First thermometer, small budgetThermoPro TP19H1-second, ±0.9 °F, motion wake, IP65You make candy or competition BBQ — the Thermapen ONE
Your jobOur pickThe deciding specChoose differently when…
Fast steak and chicken checksThermoWorks Thermapen ONE±0.5 °F, NIST-traceable certificate, IP67Budget matters more than half a degree — take the TP19H
Leave-in monitoring without any appThermoPro TP829B1,000 ft RF to a stand-alone receiver, 4 probesYou want phone alerts — the TP930 or Signals
Long smokes with cable-free probesThermoWorks RFX1,500 ft sub-GHz, 65+ hours per charge, 1000 °F externalYou want a screen on the counter without a phone — the Signals
App monitoring on a budgetThermoPro TP930Bluetooth 5.0, 650 ft, 4 probes, 8-month batteryYou want away-from-home monitoring — Signals or RFX
Four channels, alarms, Wi-FiThermoWorks Signals4 Pro-Series channels, 90 dB alarm, Wi-Fi + BluetoothNo-phone simplicity wins — the TP829B
First thermometer, small budgetThermoPro TP19H1-second, ±0.9 °F, motion wake, IP65You make candy or competition BBQ — the Thermapen ONE

ThermoWorks vs ThermoPro: the spec table

All figures are the makers' own stated specifications from their product pages, not our measurements. "Not stated" means the model's page does not document it.

Type

Thermapen ONE
Instant-read
Signals
Leave-in, wired probes
RFX MEAT
Leave-in, cable-free probe
All specifications
TP19H
Instant-read
TP829B
Leave-in, wired probes
TP930
Leave-in, wired probes

Stated accuracy

Thermapen ONE
±0.5 °F (-4 to 248 °F)
Signals
±1.8 °F (-4 to 248 °F)
RFX MEAT
±0.9 °F (14 to 212 °F internal)
All specifications
TP19H
±0.9 °F
TP829B
±1.8 °F
TP930
±1.8 °F

Reading speed

Thermapen ONE
1 second
Signals
Not stated
RFX MEAT
Not stated
All specifications
TP19H
1 second
TP829B
Not stated
TP930
Not stated

Measuring range

Thermapen ONE
-58 to 572 °F
Signals
-58 to 572 °F
RFX MEAT
0 to 212 °F internal
All specifications
TP19H
-58 to 572 °F
TP829B
14 to 572 °F
TP930
14 to 572 °F

Probes / channels

Thermapen ONE
1
Signals
4
RFX MEAT
1 per probe, 4 sensors
All specifications
TP19H
1
TP829B
4
TP930
4

Wireless

Thermapen ONE
None
Signals
Wi-Fi + Bluetooth 4.2
RFX MEAT
433 MHz, 1,500 ft
All specifications
TP19H
None
TP829B
RF, 1,000 ft
TP930
Bluetooth 5.0, 650 ft

Phone required?

Thermapen ONE
No
Signals
No
RFX MEAT
Yes
All specifications
TP19H
No
TP829B
No
TP930
No (app optional)

Battery

Thermapen ONE
1x AAA, 2,000 hours
Signals
Rechargeable, 16 hours + USB-C
RFX MEAT
65+ hours per 20-min charge
All specifications
TP19H
1x AAA, up to 3,000 hours
TP829B
2x AAA receiver + 2x AAA transmitter
TP930
Rechargeable, 8 months (maker claim)

Water rating

Thermapen ONE
IP67
Signals
IP66
RFX MEAT
IP69K (probe)
All specifications
TP19H
IP65
TP829B
Not stated
TP930
Not stated

Calibration

Thermapen ONE
NIST-traceable certificate
Signals
NIST-traceable certificate
RFX MEAT
4 calibrated sensors
All specifications
TP19H
Calibratable
TP829B
Not stated
TP930
Not stated

Warranty

Thermapen ONE
5 years
Signals
2 years (probe 6 months)
RFX MEAT
2 years (probe 1 year)
All specifications
TP19H
3 years after registration
TP829B
3 years after registration
TP930
3 years after registration
Full comparison table

Swipe to compare. Row labels stay visible.

SpecThermapen ONESignalsRFX MEATTP19HTP829BTP930
TypeInstant-readLeave-in, wired probesLeave-in, cable-free probeInstant-readLeave-in, wired probesLeave-in, wired probes
Stated accuracy±0.5 °F (-4 to 248 °F)±1.8 °F (-4 to 248 °F)±0.9 °F (14 to 212 °F internal)±0.9 °F±1.8 °F±1.8 °F
Reading speed1 secondNot statedNot stated1 secondNot statedNot stated
Measuring range-58 to 572 °F-58 to 572 °F0 to 212 °F internal-58 to 572 °F14 to 572 °F14 to 572 °F
Probes / channels141 per probe, 4 sensors144
WirelessNoneWi-Fi + Bluetooth 4.2433 MHz, 1,500 ftNoneRF, 1,000 ftBluetooth 5.0, 650 ft
Phone required?NoNoYesNoNoNo (app optional)
Battery1x AAA, 2,000 hoursRechargeable, 16 hours + USB-C65+ hours per 20-min charge1x AAA, up to 3,000 hours2x AAA receiver + 2x AAA transmitterRechargeable, 8 months (maker claim)
Water ratingIP67IP66IP69K (probe)IP65Not statedNot stated
CalibrationNIST-traceable certificateNIST-traceable certificate4 calibrated sensorsCalibratableNot statedNot stated
Warranty5 years2 years (probe 6 months)2 years (probe 1 year)3 years after registration3 years after registration3 years after registration
SpecThermapen ONESignalsRFX MEATTP19HTP829BTP930
TypeInstant-readLeave-in, wired probesLeave-in, cable-free probeInstant-readLeave-in, wired probesLeave-in, wired probes
Stated accuracy±0.5 °F (-4 to 248 °F)±1.8 °F (-4 to 248 °F)±0.9 °F (14 to 212 °F internal)±0.9 °F±1.8 °F±1.8 °F
Reading speed1 secondNot statedNot stated1 secondNot statedNot stated
Measuring range-58 to 572 °F-58 to 572 °F0 to 212 °F internal-58 to 572 °F14 to 572 °F14 to 572 °F
Probes / channels141 per probe, 4 sensors144
WirelessNoneWi-Fi + Bluetooth 4.2433 MHz, 1,500 ftNoneRF, 1,000 ftBluetooth 5.0, 650 ft
Phone required?NoNoYesNoNoNo (app optional)
Battery1x AAA, 2,000 hoursRechargeable, 16 hours + USB-C65+ hours per 20-min charge1x AAA, up to 3,000 hours2x AAA receiver + 2x AAA transmitterRechargeable, 8 months (maker claim)
Water ratingIP67IP66IP69K (probe)IP65Not statedNot stated
CalibrationNIST-traceable certificateNIST-traceable certificate4 calibrated sensorsCalibratableNot statedNot stated
Warranty5 years2 years (probe 6 months)2 years (probe 1 year)3 years after registration3 years after registration3 years after registration

Accuracy, speed and what the specs mean

Accuracy and speed decide the brand fight, and the gap is real but narrower than the price gap. The Thermapen ONE's ±0.5 °F over the -4 to 248 °F band — the range that covers nearly all meat doneness — is the tightest claim on either page, and every unit ships with a NIST-traceable calibration certificate. The TP19H answers with ±0.9 °F across a wider -58 to 572 °F range and the same 1-second response time, which for grilling, roasting and frying is comfortably enough: a degree of uncertainty will not swing a pork chop between safe and dry.

Stated accuracy of each pick (lower is better)
  • Thermapen ONE* the tightest spec, certificate included0.5degrees F
  • RFX MEAT (internal)0.9degrees F
  • TP19H0.9degrees F
  • Signals1.8degrees F
  • TP829B1.8degrees F
  • TP9301.8degrees F

Source: each maker's product page (linked in the product cards)

Watch the range bands, not just the headline number. ThermoWorks' accuracy spec degrades outside the core band: the Thermapen ONE is ±1.8 °F from -58 to -4 °F and 248 to 572 °F, and Signals is ±5.4 °F from 392 to 572 °F. ThermoPro instead quotes one ±1.8 °F (or ±0.9 °F) figure over its whole stated range. For candy and deep-frying above 248 °F, read the fine print on whichever model you buy.

On speed, both instant-reads claim 1 second, so there is nothing to separate them on paper. The leave-in systems do not publish a reading-response spec at all; their job is continuous monitoring, where probe placement matters more than seconds.

How to choose between the brands

Pick ThermoWorks or ThermoPro in three steps
  1. Decide instant-read or leave-in

    A spot-checker for steaks and chicken, or probes that stay in the meat for a whole cook? The brands' closest rivals pair up in each row of the table above.

  2. Set your accuracy bar

    ±1.8 °F is fine for everyday doneness. Candy, competition BBQ or lab-style consistency point to the Thermapen ONE's ±0.5 °F and certificate.

  3. Choose phone, screen or neither

    App in your pocket (TP930, Signals), stand-alone receiver (TP829B), or cloud from anywhere (Signals Wi-Fi, RFX Gateway).

Buy ThermoWorks when the thermometer is an instrument you'll keep for years. The Thermapen ONE carries a 5-year warranty, IP67 submersibility and a NIST-traceable certificate from an A2LA-accredited lab — the kind of documentation professional kitchens pay for. The RFX system is the most capable wireless setup on either page: sub-GHz radio that the maker says punches through smoker walls at 1,500 ft, four independently calibrated sensors per probe, IP69K sealing and 1000 °F external heat tolerance.

Buy ThermoPro when the budget is the constraint. The TP19H's spec sheet — 1 second, ±0.9 °F, motion wake, 3,000 hours on one AAA — reads like a Thermapen's for much less money, accepting IP65 instead of IP67 and a 3-year registered warranty. The TP829B and TP930 give you four probes and long-range monitoring at prices where ThermoWorks sells one probe.

Compatibility: grilling, smoking, ovens, wireless and probes

Match the tool to the heat and the distance:

  • Yes: Oven and grill grates: both brands' wired-probe systems (Signals, TP829B, TP930) are built for closed-lid cooking
  • Yes: Closed-lid smoking away from the pit: TP829B (1,000 ft RF), RFX (1,500 ft), TP930 (650 ft Bluetooth), Signals (95 ft Bluetooth / Wi-Fi)
  • Yes: Away-from-home monitoring: Signals on Wi-Fi and RFX via its Wi-Fi Gateway; TP930 and TP829B cannot
  • Yes: Whole-bird or rotisserie without cables: RFX's cable-free probe; ThermoPro's wired models need the transmitter outside the heat
  • No: Deep-frying and candy work: skip RFX (internal range tops out at 212 °F); check the fine-print accuracy above 248 °F on every model
  • Partly: Instant-reads: fine for any of it, one poke at a time

Probe replacement is a real long-term cost difference. ThermoWorks sells Pro-Series probes separately for Signals and supports the line with silicone spools and colored rings — the maker positions these as commercial-grade with better moisture resistance than "houseware-grade" probes — but probe warranty is only 6 months (Signals) or 1 year (RFX). ThermoPro's TP829B and TP930 pages do not state a separate probe warranty or a replacement program; the TP930's four color-coded probes and the TP829B's 8-inch probes are described, but spares and cross-model compatibility are not documented on the pages checked here. If you cook weekly, check spare-probe availability for your exact model before buying either brand.

Warranty, app support and long-term ownership

Flagship warranty

ThermoWorks
Thermapen ONE: 5 years
ThermoPro
TP19H/TP829B/TP930: 3 years after registration

Leave-in warranty

ThermoWorks
Signals 2 years (probe 6 months); RFX 2 years (probe 1 year)
ThermoPro
Not stated separately on the pages checked

Calibration

ThermoWorks
NIST-traceable certificate with Thermapen ONE and Signals
ThermoPro
TP19H described as calibratable; not stated for TP829B/TP930

App

ThermoWorks
ThermoWorks app for Signals and RFX (Gateway)
ThermoPro
Companion app for TP930; TP829B needs no app

Battery cost over time

ThermoWorks
Thermapen ONE: one AAA for 2,000 hours. Signals: rechargeable, 16 hours per charge (USB-C for long cooks). RFX probe: 65+ h per 20-min charge; charging block AAA good for 175+ charges
ThermoPro
TP19H: one AAA for up to 3,000 hours. TP829B: 2x AAA receiver + 2x AAA transmitter. TP930: rechargeable, maker-claimed 8 months per charge
Full comparison table

Swipe to compare. Row labels stay visible.

Ownership factorThermoWorksThermoPro
Flagship warrantyThermapen ONE: 5 yearsTP19H/TP829B/TP930: 3 years after registration
Leave-in warrantySignals 2 years (probe 6 months); RFX 2 years (probe 1 year)Not stated separately on the pages checked
CalibrationNIST-traceable certificate with Thermapen ONE and SignalsTP19H described as calibratable; not stated for TP829B/TP930
AppThermoWorks app for Signals and RFX (Gateway)Companion app for TP930; TP829B needs no app
Battery cost over timeThermapen ONE: one AAA for 2,000 hours. Signals: rechargeable, 16 hours per charge (USB-C for long cooks). RFX probe: 65+ h per 20-min charge; charging block AAA good for 175+ chargesTP19H: one AAA for up to 3,000 hours. TP829B: 2x AAA receiver + 2x AAA transmitter. TP930: rechargeable, maker-claimed 8 months per charge
Ownership factorThermoWorksThermoPro
Flagship warrantyThermapen ONE: 5 yearsTP19H/TP829B/TP930: 3 years after registration
Leave-in warrantySignals 2 years (probe 6 months); RFX 2 years (probe 1 year)Not stated separately on the pages checked
CalibrationNIST-traceable certificate with Thermapen ONE and SignalsTP19H described as calibratable; not stated for TP829B/TP930
AppThermoWorks app for Signals and RFX (Gateway)Companion app for TP930; TP829B needs no app
Battery cost over timeThermapen ONE: one AAA for 2,000 hours. Signals: rechargeable, 16 hours per charge (USB-C for long cooks). RFX probe: 65+ h per 20-min charge; charging block AAA good for 175+ chargesTP19H: one AAA for up to 3,000 hours. TP829B: 2x AAA receiver + 2x AAA transmitter. TP930: rechargeable, maker-claimed 8 months per charge

The pattern: ThermoWorks costs more up front and documents more (certificates, approvals, probe warranties); ThermoPro runs on cheap replaceable batteries and registers its 3-year warranty online. Both apps are optional where a screen exists — Signals and both ThermoPro leave-ins work without a phone; only RFX strictly requires the app and Gateway.

How we choose

We read both makers' current product pages and spec tables — ThermoWorks.com for the Thermapen ONE, Signals and RFX, and ThermoPro's temppro.com store for the TP19H, TP829B and TP930 — and compared only what each maker documents: stated accuracy and its range bands, wireless type and range, battery type and life, water ratings, calibration and warranty terms. We did not physically test any unit, and no prices, ratings or retailer data inform the picks above. Where a page does not state a spec, we say so rather than guess. This is the same method as our best multimeters guide: model-level evidence, brand-neutral conclusions.

Verdict

ThermoWorks is the buy when precision, documentation and longevity justify the price: the Thermapen ONE for instant reads, RFX for cable-free long smokes, Signals for four-channel alarms with remote monitoring. ThermoPro is the smart money for everyone else — the TP19H is the best-value instant-read on this page, and the TP829B or TP930 handle leave-in cooks for far less. Buy the tier, not the brand: check the accuracy band you actually cook in, whether you want a phone in the loop, and spare-probe availability before you click.

Frequently asked questions

Is ThermoWorks more accurate than ThermoPro?

On paper, yes, at the models compared here. ThermoWorks specifies the Thermapen ONE at ±0.5 °F over its core range and includes a NIST-traceable calibration certificate; the RFX MEAT internal sensors are specified at ±0.9 °F. ThermoPro specifies the TP19H at ±0.9 °F and the TP829B and TP930 at ±1.8 °F. Half a degree rarely changes a weeknight dinner, but for candy, sous-vide-style precision or competition BBQ the tighter spec and certificate are the reason to pay more.

Are ThermoPro thermometers still called ThermoPro?

Mostly. ThermoPro's store moved to temppro.com and its new marketing names include TempSwift PLUS (TP19H), TempSync PLUS (TP829B) and TempSync PRO (TP930), while the product pages still carry the model numbers. A note on the TP19H page says orders may arrive in packaging with the previous brand name and that quality and performance are unchanged. Nothing on the maker's pages says the ThermoPro brand is discontinued.

Which brand is better for long smokes like brisket?

For unattended low-and-slow cooks with remote monitoring, ThermoWorks' RFX system has the strongest specs: a 1,500 ft sub-GHz link that the maker says punches through smokers, 65+ hours of probe battery per 20-minute charge and 1000 °F external heat tolerance. On a budget, ThermoPro's TP829B covers the same leave-in job with 1,000 ft of RF range and a stand-alone receiver — it just has no app or away-from-home monitoring.

Do I need Wi-Fi or is Bluetooth enough?

Bluetooth is enough if you stay in range: the TP930 covers 650 ft and ThermoWorks' Signals lists 95 ft line of sight on Bluetooth with Wi-Fi for beyond. Wi-Fi (Signals and the RFX Gateway) is what lets you check a cook from anywhere your phone has internet. ThermoPro's TP829B skips both: its RF link goes to its own receiver, so you never depend on a phone at all.

Is a Thermapen ONE worth it over a TP19H?

If you cook a lot of meat and want one thermometer that lasts, it can be. The Thermapen ONE's documented edges are ±0.5 °F accuracy with a NIST-traceable certificate, an IP67 submersible body against the TP19H's IP65 rinse rating, and a 5-year warranty against 3 years after registration. Both read in 1 second, both wake on motion, and both run on one AAA battery. The TP19H costs much less and is accurate enough for most grilling.

Can I calibrate these thermometers myself?

The Thermapen ONE's page highlights its included NIST-traceable calibration certificate from ThermoWorks' A2LA-accredited lab, and the TP19H's description calls it calibratable. The TP930 and TP829B pages do not mention user calibration. An ice-bath check (a properly prepared 32 °F slurry) is the standard at-home verification for any of them — a reading outside the maker's stated accuracy band is a warranty or replacement matter, not something to adjust past on a sealed consumer unit.

Related guides